The Rules and Regulations

All the details you need on how to qualify and compete in the All-Weather Championships.

Championship Rules

There are a number of rules around the All Weather Championships, mostly focused upon qualification. There are two ways for a horse to qualify for an All-Weather Championship Finals Day Race:

1. Either a horse must run a minimum of three times on the all-weather surfaces in Great Britain, Ireland or France (or twice on the all-weather surfaces in Britain, Ireland or France and once on the dirt at Meydan in Dubai).

These runs must take place during the Qualifying period which runs between 22 October 2019 and the six day entry stage for the All-Weather Championships Finals Day races and be rated high enough to ‘make the cut’ in a Championships Race by order of its Official BHA Rating.  

Horses wishing to take part in the valuable Apprentice Jockey's Handicap at Lingfield Park on Good Friday must also have met the qualifying criteria of three runs in Britain, Ireland or France (or one of these three in Dubai).  There is no qualifying criteria to run in races at Newcastle or Chelmsford City on Good Friday.

2. Or a horse can win a specific Fast-Track Qualifier which will qualify for free and guaranteed entry into a specific race on finals day. 

If a Filly wins any of the Fast Track Qualifier races for either the Sprint or the Mile categories, the filly will be qualified for the Final of that specific category, or for the Fillies and Mares Final.

Any horse qualifying for a guaranteed place in more than one of the Finals, by winning a Fast Track Qualifier race within more than one category, may be entered in each of the respective Finals for which they are qualified, but will only be able to be declared (at the 48 hour declaration stage) for one of the Finals. 

In the event of a dead-heat in a Fast-Track Qualifier:

The Free and Guaranteed entry will be given to all winning horses in that race.

In the event of disqualification of the winner of a qualifier:

The horse which is officially promoted to first place will be awarded the “Fast-Track Qualifier” entry.

Horse with jockey onboard

In the event of 2 or more horses being rated the same for a place in the Championship Finals:

The places in the Championship Final will be awarded based on these tie-breaking count-back rules:

  1. No. of wins in the qualifying period
  2. No. of 2nd’s in the qualifying period
  3. No. of 3rd’s in the qualifying period
  4. No. of 4th’s in the qualifying period
  5. Random Ballot
Two male jockeys

Entry for the Championship Final races will be a 2 stage process:

  1. 6 Day Entry
  2. 48 Hour Declaration

NB: The Official BHA Rating of entrants on the day prior to the 6 Day Entry Stage will be used to determine the finalists.

A reserve system will operate for the 7 Championship Final races in the same way that they currently operate for other notable races in Britain. Two reserves will be selected for each Final race. A horse will not be permitted to declare as a reserve if declaring for another race on the card.

The All-Weather Championships runs from 22 October 2019 – 10 April 2020. The Finals Day will take place at Lingfield Park Resort on Good Friday, 10 April 2020, featuring the six Championship Category Finals. The Total Prize Fund on the day for the 7 Races will be £1 million.

Fast Track Qualifier Dates

FTQ Dates

View current championship leaderboards.


Download our handy info pack

Download Info Pack

Sign up for the latest news, exclusive offers and details on forthcoming events.