Kempton Park opened for racing in 1878 when businessman Henry Hyde passed the site in Sunbury on Thames and identified it as the perfect location for a new racecourse in the UK.
Located within the historic jump track, the ten furlong,oval polytrack is right-handed with a bend radius of 137m. The track is 20 m wide in the home straight with a false rail at the 2nd pole which helps a trouble free passage to the winning post.
Kempton Park also boasts the first fully retractable floodlighting system used on a racecourse. Of the 42 flood lights that illuminate the track, 28 of the poles have the ability to lay flat to the ground – ensuring the view of daytime flat and jump racing is not compromised.
Refurbished in 2015, 2016 & 2018 – by British company Martin Collins Enterprises, who designed the surface specifically for Kempton Park – In 2015 & 2018 2000 tonnes of original specification polytrack with additional fibre and wax was added to the course and in 2016, 56 tonnes of wax and 48 tonnes of CLOPF fibre were added. This continued investment has rejuvenated the track and extends its performance and longevity.